Do not be like the horse or mule

imgres-2

”I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you. Do not be like the horse or the mule, which have no understanding, but must be controlled by bit and bridle or they will not come to you.”   (Psalm 32:8-9)

This Psalm invited me to consider the recent events in my own life. God revealed to me several years ago that I needed to lay down one of my beloved jobs. The constant activity of balancing my work loads resulted in less time to simply abide in him and hear his voice. The Lord literally had to place bit and bridle in my mouth in the form of a changed job description that I was not called to fulfill.  God was clearly forcing me to say “no” to something good, so that space could be created for me to say “yes” to him.  In this compulsory act of faith, I believe that God is allowing me to say “yes” to something better which I can not see, yet.

As I continued to reflect on this Psalm, I became convicted of my own slow and stubborn ways and thus I prayed:

“Lord, you have had to use bit and bridle to force me to change direction. Long ago, you revealed that I needed a course correction, but I refused to listen because somehow with my pitiful human mind, I thought I could follow several paths at one time. Yet, as a loving father, you intervened and you forced me to make the necessary course correction to get on the right path, your path. You have had to completely shut doors of opportunity so that I could choose your path. The bit and bridle is so painful Lord…I hate not being in control!

Yet I pray, Lord mold me. Change my will to your will. Let your will be done today. I want to naturally choose your way. Lord, increase my hunger and thirst for you and do not let me be satisfied with anything, but your perfect will. Give me the strength to say “no” or “not now” so that I can first seek your will and unswervingly turn toward your “yes” for me today.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

