He heard my voice

Imagine growing up with no one to answer your cries of distress. Imagine falling with no one to comfort you or attend to your injuries. Imagine being bullied, picked on and abused with no one to hear.

This is the all too common lament of the orphaned child. Here at the Joy Home, they are just learning to trust an adult. When I ask the older children, “who is there to comfort you when you have a bad day?” The most frequent response is “no one, there is no one to comfort me.” This, of course, is no longer true because they now have a mother here at the Joy Home. Each set of eight children have their own mother who functions as “mom” in every aspect of mothering. Yet, their perception is still that there is no one to comfort them.

I gently urge the children to tell their mother when they have a bad day as I urge the mothers to ask about their children’s day. This will be a long slow process of gaining trust because for most of these children their first good memories began when they arrived here.

Lord, help these children know that you have placed someone in their lives to parent them. Continue to open the eyes, ears and hearts of these wonderful women who are “called” to parent. Soften the children’s hearts so they will learn to trust that their new mothers will hear them. Help them trust so that one day they can join King David in saying, “I love the LORD, for he heard my voice; he heard my cry for mercy. Because he turned his ear to me, I will call on him as long as I live.”*

*Psalm 116

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

