That which you gaze upon, you become….

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God. (Matt 5:5)

Who are the pure in heart?  They are the ones who only look toward Jesus Christ.  They do not gaze to the right or the left.  They seek the Lord’s answers and do not look toward the world or self for guidance.  His priorities become their priorities.  There are no desires, but His desire.  They have no will, but His will.  Their heart is undivided…pure!

It is a generally accepted truth that what we gaze upon, we become.  We subconsciously and consciously reflect the values and norms of our culture.  Many of our thinking and behavioral patterns are actually a reflection of our societal paradigm.  Most of us never realize what we are reflecting until we visit another country.  Thus, we have become what we have gazed upon.  

To incarnate a pure heart, we must gaze upon the Christ.  To incarnate His love, gaze upon the cross as this is the very definition of love.  “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.” (John 3:16).   If I reflected the love of my Lord and Savior, then I would love without restraint.  I would love someone who will not or can not love me in return.  The love of Christ is a costly love.  Yet, I would be able to spend this love extravagantly toward others because when the love of Christ pours through us, it is constantly and supernaturally refilled and renewed.

So today, I invite you to pray this prayer:

Lord, give me your heart…a pure heart.  I acknowledge that there is a veil that covers my heart and prevents me from fully reflecting your love.  So today, I claim your promise that “whenever anyone turns to [you], the veil is taken away….and we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate [your] glory, are being transformed into [your] image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from [you].” (2 Corinthians 3: 16-18).  Lord, hold my gaze toward you so that my heart becomes your heart and my will becomes thy will.

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church in Norfolk,Virginia] and [www.thewayofprayer.com], [2012]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

