1000 Reasons Not to Pray

I woke up early to pray and wouldn’t.  I don’t know why I wouldn’t pray.  I found 1000 reasons to not pray.  I didn’t have to be to work until noon and wanted to devote a portion of the morning to prayer.  Instead, I looked at the front page of the paper and then I washed some dishes, started a load of laundry, answered email and began a small project.  

None of these things were urgent.  Last night, when I went to bed, I had every intention of waking up early to pray, but I couldn’t.  Wouldn’t??  Ugh!  

What is wrong with me? Like the apostle Paul, “what I am doing, I do not understand; for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate.”  (Romans 7:15).  Why is it so hard to pray some days? 

I summoned all of my strength and finally sat down to pray.  Immediately, I realized the folly of my morning.  I felt a strange mixture of consolation and remorse as I prayed my opening petition, “Lord I acknowledge you in all my ways, make straight my path. (Prov. 3:6)  Walk before me, behind me, surround me with your presence and most importantly, walk through me.” 

As I finished my prayer time, I realized that I had wasted the morning.  By not praying first, my work was only my work.  I missed the opportunity of allowing him to establish the work of my hands for His glory.

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church in Norfolk,Virginia] and [www.thewayofprayer.com], [2012]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

