“Too busy not to pray”

I woke up this morning worrying about how the day would progress.  I had too much to do and too little time.  I almost skipped my prayer time, but decided that I had made a commitment to this new prayer practice and I need to stay consistent.  So, not praying was not an option. 

My devotional time included meditating on the verse “for with you is the fountain of life; in your light, we see light.”  Psalm 36:9  

Only in the light of Christ is hope.  The hope of Christ drives out all fear (worry), for he is life and light.  By living in the light of Christ, we will cease worrying.  

My prayer for today:                                                                                                                 “Lord, I desire to be productive and successful. I confess that I worry excessively about the outcome of events.  My worry about fruitfulness robs me of the joy of today.  How can I live fully in your light if I am anxious about the next thing or a future event?   Lord, I place my day completely in your hands.  Lord, I have faith that you are a good God and that you are in charge of today.  Let me fully accept the gift of today.   Let me receive all that I need today for you are the “fountain of life and in your light, I see light.”  Lord, let me dance in your light! 

The result:                                                                                                                                   When I went upstairs to get dressed for the day, I discovered that I had spent an hour in scripture meditation and prayer time.  I was fighting with the thought, “you spent too much time in prayer. How will you get everything done?”  Yet, I felt great peace all day and I kept lingering on the image of myself dancing in the light of Christ.  As an additional blessing, all the things on my to do list were completed and I actually had some unexpected free time at the end of the day.  By relinquishing the day and the glory to Christ, he interceded by providing some unexpected workers who volunteered to help for an hour.  What a gift.  God is good.

 © [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church inNorfolk,Virginia] and [www.thewayofprayer.com], [2012]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

