Day 1 of New Prayer Practice

OK.  I hate to admit it, but God has been prodding me to wake up extra early and pray….but every morning, I choose sleep.

I have been wrestling with this area of disobedience and have asked myself, “Which do I think is more important:  extra prayer or extra sleep?”

Do I believe that I can do all things through Him who strengthens me (Phil. 4:13)?

Or do I believe that I can do all things through Kristine who strengthens herself?

Obviously, I’m living as if I believe extra sleep is the source of my strength.  Thus, this issue is ultimately a faith issue:  Do I believe that if I give up sleep to spend time with God, he will sustain me?

Well this morning, by faith, I gave up sleep.

The result: I would love to say that today, I soared with the eagles.  Yet, the truth is that today I was no more and no less tired than any other day.  So, the Lord sustained me today.  As an additional perk, the Lord spoke truth into my life from several sources and these words strengthened my faith!

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [www.thewayofprayer.com], [2012]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 1 of New Prayer Practice

  1. Debbie says:

    Aha…a hint of hilarity is in this post. I say this because I also prefer to sleep. Perhaps you will inspire me to be more diligent in my prayer life.

Leave a Reply

