DAY 28: Today we lift up the Eastern Central African countries of Djibouti; Kenya, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda and the Zanzibar Islands

  1. ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME

You are the God who Speaks…. 

You, Lord, spoke the world into existence. Your word is so powerful that what is uttered by you happens. You continue to speak: through creation, events; and your word.  “Speak Lord, for your servant is listening….” (1 Sam. 3:9) 

2.  CONFESS ANY SIN

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness…. 

Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you….. 

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)…. 

3.  THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION 

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….  

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)…. 

Thank you for the things that I know you will do…. 

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today: 

4. SUPPLICATION 

(a) Pray for the world: East Central Africa: Djibouti; Kenya, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda and the Zanzibar Islands 

Lord, I thank you for softening the hearts of the leaders of Djibouti to allow religious freedom, although religious groups must register. Be with the new Christians, especially the Afars, who have converted from Islam and often experience harsh persecution. 

Father, you know the plight of your people in Somalia. Bring relief from the present famine, and prevent the many warlords and armed factions from keeping aid away from the starving. Establish peace and a stable government in Somalia, and remove the  Islamist Al Shabab militants. Lord, grant wisdom and guidance to the Christian community in Somalia as they share the gospel with their neighbors. Please allow the legacy of those who are martyred for their faith to embolden other believers to walk a path of steadfast faith, even amid great adversity. 

Lord, I thank you that Kenya remains a regional and continental hub for Christian mission, theological education and church ministry. I praise you for the massive evangelical presence in Kenya (nearly 50% are Evangelical from many denominations). Father, I ask that you raise up just and honest governmental leaders who uplift the poor, punish the wicked and will not tolerate corruption which is rampant and systemic. Lord, I ask that you give indigenous Christian leaders wisdom as they deal with droughts in the north, fragile ecosystems, overdue land reform, widening gaps between rich and poor, increasingly scarce water, rapidly expanding urban slums and burgeoning populations of street children/AIDS orphans. 

Lord, I praise you for Uganda’s widespread prayer movements, renewal movements in the Catholic Church and strong evangelical presence that has resulted in high church attendance and increased public prayer. Lord, I am thankful for Uganda’s successful battle with AIDS which massively reduced cases, from 25% in 1992 to below 10% in 2001. It is awesome to think that the government and churches achieved this by promoting the Biblical concepts of abstinence and fidelity as well as encouraging condom use. Father I ask that you dismantle the LRA (Lord’s Resistance Army), which spreads terror and has committed countless atrocities over the past twenty years, and bless ministries working among the victims who are deeply scarred psychologically, maimed physically and in great need spiritually. 

Lord, I am thankful that the Tanzanian Christian churches can now officially register and can work more openly. Praise you, God for the growing unity that is developing amongst church leaders. Please help these Christians grow more effective in reaching Muslims with the love of Jesus.  

(b) Write down the names of people who you are praying for today (especially the unchurched): 

(c) Pray for your personal needs: 

5.  PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD 

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.  Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)…. 

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen” 

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

