DAY 26: Today we lift up the North African countries of Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco and Tunisia

  1. ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME

You are the Incomprehensible God…. 

“For your thoughts are not my thoughts, nor are my ways your ways…For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are your ways higher than my ways and your thoughts than my thoughts” (Isaiah 55:8-9). 

2.  CONFESS ANY SIN 

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness…. 

Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you….. 

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)….

3.  THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION 

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….  

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)…. 

Thank you for the things that I know you will do…. 

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today: 

4. SUPPLICATION 

(a) Pray for the world: North Africa:  Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco and Tunisia

Jesus, guide the new governments in Egypt, Tunisia and Libya into true democracies with complete freedom of religion for their people. Until that time, Lord, I again petition you to protect Christians who converted from the Muslim faith, for they often face ostracism from their families, loss of employment and imprisonment. 

Lord, I lift up my brothers and sisters in Morocco where Sunni Islam is the state religion, and the existence of Christians and Jews is tolerated, but the existence of an indigenous Moroccan Church is not officially recognized by the government. Soften the hearts of the persecutors and draw them into relationship with you. Lord Jesus, please shield Christian mission workers from the large wave of recent deportations from this country. Give them the courage to live in such a way that members of the communities they serve will want to know you as their Lord and Savior. 

Father, support your church in Algeria in light the recent closing of 26 churches (about half of all evangelical churches). Continue to bless your Church so that it will continue to grow in numbers and commitment despite the increased opposition (including the destruction and burning of Church buildings). Lord, I praise you for the Christians who continue to meet regularly despite a new law stating that house churches are illegal.  Even though the government is trying mightily to stop evangelism and church growth in Algeria, use this persecution as a way to draw new believers into your kingdom. 

Lord, please raise up righteous leaders in Tunisia who will continue to uphold freedom of religion including allowing Muslims to convert to Christianity and extending visas to missionaries and mission workers. Thank you for the faithful believers in the city of Kairouan, which is considered to be the fourth holiest city of Islam and is the site of The Grand Mosque, and throughout the nation. 

Father, please strengthen the few existing Libyan believers so they can grow strong in their faith and have opportunities to be discipled. Libya is ripe and needs more workers who can clearly present the Gospel. Place a call on believers in our country, and others, to carry your gospel to Libya. 

Lord, I pray that you will place a hedge of protection around the Egyptian Christian communities as they seek to support and encourage those becoming Christians from a Muslim background. I pray that you will come along side the Egyptian Christians and provide them avenues of encouragement as they are not only treated like second-class citizens (politically, legally and in employment), but often suffer harassment, torture and ill-treatment. In the name of the ‘Prince of Peace’, let your peace reign in Egypt. 

(b) Write down the names of people who you are praying for today (especially the unchurched): 

(c) Pray for your personal needs: 

5.  PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD 

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.  Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)…. 

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen” 

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

