DAY 25: Today we lift up the Pacific Island countries of Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Palau, Samoa, Tonga and Tuvalu

  1. ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME

You are the God who Foreknows the Future….

Lord, you foreknew me and predestined to be conformed to the image of your Son.

(Romans 8:29). “In your book were written all the days that were formed for me, when none of them as yet existed. (Psalm 139:16). 

2.  CONFESS ANY SIN 

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness…. 

Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you….. 

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)…. 

3.  THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION 

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….  

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)…. 

Thank you for the things that I know you will do…. 

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today: 

4. SUPPLICATION 

(a) Pray for the world: Pacific Islands: Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Palau, Samoa, Tonga and Tuvalu 

Lord, send Your Spirit to rest upon the peoples of these Pacific Islands. All are overwhelmingly Christian (with the exception of New Zealand at just 53% and Fiji at 65%), and yet nominalism and spiritual fatigue has set in for so many. Remind them of their first love, and strengthen their devotion to you. Thank you for the spiritual revival in Nauru amidst their economic crisis. 

Jesus, protect the people from the great numbers of Mormon missionaries and the steadily expanding growth of the Mormon faith in places like Samoa and Tonga. Help your disciples in Fiji share the good news with the largely unreached Hindu population. Bring political stability to Fiji and a spirit of grace and repentance amongst the Christians there for their treatment of the Hindu Indians. Place a special protection around the people of Kiribati, as their entire nation faces eradication if the sea levels rise. 

Thank you for the amazing willingness of Christians in New Zealand to be sent into the mission friend, and the collective goal of many churches in that nation to send 1 missionary per 1,000 believers, amounting to 3,000 missionaries (twice as many as the current number). Grant them success in this endeavor! 

Lord, use those sent to witness to an increasingly secular population in New Zealand (41% of the population today defines themselves as “non-religious”). Especially expand the church’s mission to young people who are impacted significantly by the state’s secular education system. Let your light shine in the darkness! 

(b) Write down the names of people who you are praying for today (especially the unchurched):

(c) Pray for your personal needs: 

5.  PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD 

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.  Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)…. 

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen” 

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

About The Way of Prayer

I am a Registered Dietitian, Licensed Clinical Social Worker and have studied Spiritual Formation at Columbia Theological Seminary
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment