DAY 23: Today we lift up the Eastern Asian countries of China, Japan, Mongolia, North Korea and South Korea

1.  ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME

You are a Gracious God…

I have done nothing to be worthy of your unmerited grace. Yet, O Lord, you make your

face to shine upon me, and you are gracious to me (Num. 6:25). … “You, O Lord, are a

God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness” (Psalm 86:15).

2. CONFESS ANY SIN

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness….

Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you…..

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)….

3. THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)….

Thank you for the things that I know you will do….

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are
thanking Him for today:

4. SUPPLICATION

(a) Pray for the world: Eastern Asia: China, Japan, Mongolia, North Korea and South Korea

Father, I pray for the light of your truth to shine in China. I ask for your mercy upon the Chinese people who live in a country with one of the worst human rights records in the world. Please pour out your love upon the hundreds of thousands of people each year who are forced to go through a system of “re-education through labor” in work camps without a court hearing. Lord, please convict the Chinese government of their lack of compassion towards the Christians who are forcibly repatriated to North Korea where they face imprisonment, torture and even execution.

I pray for my Christian brothers and sisters in Tibet who are trapped between the oppression of Buddhism and the oppression of communism. Please shield
and strengthen the many Christians who are in prison or under detention in China
(more than in any other country). Encourage the worshippers in house churches (unregistered churches), which make up approximately ninety percent of China’s Christians, as they endure unimaginable persecution.

Father, I know you mourn for the people of North Korea, which has one of the most repressive and isolated regimes in the world. Their government officials deny the country’s
citizens even the most basic human rights. I pray for the estimated 100,000 Christians who must practice their faith in deep secrecy and are in constant danger. Please
continue to strengthen and give hope to the one in four North Korean Christian worshippers who live in prison camps (about 40,000); most of them will never leave their imprisonment on earth. May these Christians display the refreshing righteousness of Christ in the midst of a nation struggling with corruption, dictatorship and injustice.

Lord, I praise you that South Korea has become a bastion of Christianity in so many ways. Father, thank you for blessing this nation with six of the ten largest churches in the world, for making them the second-largest foreign-mission-sending nation with over 20,000
missionaries sent, and for their remarkable commitment to prayer: early morning and evening prayer meetings every day and all night; prayer concerts on weekends and prayer mountains (retreat centers). Guard Christians from the materialism which is increasing in
this society.

Jesus, I thank you for the growth of the Mongolian church from just four Christians to 40,000 Christians in the past two decades. Lord, I praise you for religious freedom in
Mongolia although there are some restrictions on foreign religious Workers.

Lord, I grieve with Japan over the recent devastating tsunami. In addition, many young people struggle with self-worth that has resulted in a suicide epidemic (over 30,000/year). Please bless the Japanese Church so that they can be a beacon of light to the nation. Please give church leaders strength, creativity and stamina to engage and disciple members (especially men) and meaningful ways.

(b) Write down the names of people who you are praying for today (especially the unchurched):

(c) Pray for your personal needs:

5. PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing. Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray. O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)….

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen”

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

