DAY 22: Today we lift up the Southeast Asian countries of Singapore; Malaysia; Indonesia; Brunei; Timor Leste and the Philippines

1.  ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME

You are a Personal God… 

Lord, you have chosen to make your self known to me by revealing yourself in through Jesus Christ so that I can have a personal relationship with you.  Your love for me came down in and through Jesus Christ….

Lord, you are intimate with all my ways.  “You have searched me and known me. You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from far away.  You search out my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways. Even before a word is on my tongue, O Lord, you know it completely….(Psalm 139: 1-6) 

2.  CONFESS ANY SIN 

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness…. 

Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you….. 

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)…. 

3.  THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION 

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….  

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)…. 

Thank you for the things that I know you will do….

 Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today: 

4. SUPPLICATION 

(a) Pray for the world: Southeast Asia:  Singapore; Malaysia; Indonesia;  Brunei;  Timor Leste and the Philippines 

Lord, I thank you for freedom of religion in Singapore which has resulted in the growth of believers to 16% of the population.   I am thankful that Singapore is now a strategic hub for mission activity and mission sending – many of these are disaster relief and medical missions, drawing on the expertise and training of many Singaporeans.  Lord, give believers courage and wisdom to evangelize.  Legislation against overt proselytism exists, but the only force preventing effective outreach is the Church’s own unfounded fears. I pray that churches will gain a passion and burden to reach out to the Muslim Malay population and the Hindu Indian population.  Lord, protect your believers from spiritual pride which is a constant temptation for the affluent and influential Church. Lord, give my brothers and sisters a heart to reach out to the poor and working classes which are significantly under-reached and marginalized. Please give the Singaporean believers transformed lives inside and out – for humility, continued brokenness and greater dependence on God.

 

Lord, I am thankful that Malaysia  has a constitutional guarantee of religious freedom for all faiths.  I pray that the Christian community may continue to possess the liberty to practice, profess and propagate their faith amid the discrimination and intimidation arising from the process of Islamization currently occurring.   Lord, I ask that you soften the hearts of leaders so that true religious freedom can be exercised in this country.  Sunni Islam is the official religion and some discriminatory legislation and actions against minorities seem to be creeping in. Shari’a law, applicable for Muslims only, actually supersedes constitutional law on many issues.  Proselytism of Muslims is illegal and considerable effort and lawmaking is exercised to induce tribal peoples and other minorities to become Muslim.  Additionally, apostasy laws make conversion from Islam illegal in all but one state and it is harshly punished.  Lord, I ask that you give courage and discretion to Muslims who convert to Christianity, as it is illegal to change their religion.   I pray for godly leaders who are prepared, at considerable cost, to lead their churches by nurturing and empowering members to live godly lives – in the discipline of prayer and the task of evangelism.  Lord, protect those who witness for it is illegal in most states to proselytize Muslims.  Please comfort those who have been canned and imprisoned for sharing their faith.  Lord, give your believers creativity, wisdom and fearlessness as they seek to share the good news with Malaysian Muslims.    

Today I lift up the 11.5 million Christians in Indonesia.  Lord God, raise up just and upright leaders who will stop the recent closing of Christian churches and the prohibitions against expansion.  God, I praise you that no one was injured when two churches were recently burned down by Muslim extremists.  Please help the Christians be your witness as they seek peace and exhibit the attitude of Christ in the face of animosity and oppression.  Please give them energy as they develop training programs designed for those involved in outreach to Muslims.  Lord, please, I ask give your churches perseverance as they are often targets of arson and destruction of property.  Open the eyes of the Indonesian people to the wonderful work that you are doing in and through your church.  Lord, we ask that the newly trained pastors act with humility and live in obedience to the Bible as their lives witness to the presence of Christ to their Muslim neighbors.  Please protect these pastors as they teach and minister to these newly trained Indonesian pastors. 

Father, I ask that you soften the hearts of the leaders of the country of Brunei so that they will lift restrictions on religious groups that do not adhere to Sunni Islam.  I pray that you will raise up leaders who will allow access to Christian literature and lift the building restrictions on non-Muslim places of worship (there are only three registered churches in this country).  Father, give spiritual discernment to Christian expatriates who seek to share their faith because the evangelization of Muslims and their conversion to Christianity is prohibited. Soften the hearts of the Bruneian people and bring them close to you.  Please let the lives of the expatriate Christians be filled with godly behavior so that their lives will provide an example of Christ’s hope and love.  Father I pray for your Church throughout Brunei.  Please shield and support the indigenous secret believers and let them live in such a way that they will be a light to their neighbors and community. May your presence be felt during their worship and prayers so that local believers will be encouraged to build meaningful relationships for the sake of the kingdom.  Stir the hearts of the people so that they will not be satisfied until they know you and have received you as their Lord and Savior… 

Lord, I pray for your peace in Timor Leste, so that grievances might be laid to rest and that reconciliation might begin to take root.  Lord, please bring unity to the Catholics and Protestants who are viewed with suspicion as originating from Indonesia.  Provide Christian leaders who can disciple their flock so that they will not incorporate animistic beliefs with Christianity.   I ask that you move your people to answer the call to reachTimor’s indigenous peoples as they remain mostly ignorant of the gospel.  Lord, please raise up church planters who will risk all to see the Kingdom of God established. 

Lord, I pray that you will raise up righteous and just leaders in the Philippines who will effectively deal with the problems of high population growth, widespread corruption, social and political unrest and a series of natural disasters have played havoc with the economy, perpetuating widespread poverty and unemployment.   I grieve with you that thePhilippinesisAsia’s most Christianized nation and yet it is the fourth most corrupt!   Please bless the work of  the Fellowship of Christians in Government, which promotes biblical standards in state structures and among Christian public servants.  Give your leaders guidance so that they find a fair and workable solution that will bring peace in Mindanao between the marginalized Muslim (Moro) population, the government and the local “Christian” majority. Please soften the hearts of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front.  Lord, let the life of Christians be so irresistible that their Islam neighbors will want to know their God.  Father, I ask for you to continue to give life and invigorate your church in the Philippines so that it can be beacon of your truth and a light to Asia. 

(b) Write down the names of people who you are praying for today (especially the unchurched):

(c) Pray for your personal needs: 

5.  PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD 

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.  Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)…. 

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen”

 

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

