DAY 19: Today we lift up the the Middle East countries of Afghanistan; Pakistan and India

1.  ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME 

You are the Infinite God… 

Father God, you have no boundaries.  You are without measure.  Even the heavens cannot contain you. You exist outside time and space. You are without limits.  You have said, “Who can hide in secret places so that I cannot see them? Do not I fill heaven and earth?” declares the LORD”  (Jer. 23:24)… 

2.  CONFESS ANY SIN 

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness…. 

Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you….. 

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)…. 

3.  THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION 

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….  

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)….

 Thank you for the things that I know you will do…. 

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today: 

4. SUPPLICATION 

(a) Pray for the world: The Middle East: Afghanistan; Pakistan; India

Father I ask for protection for new Afghani Christian converts who profess faith in Jesus Christ for they experience fierce reprisals from family, community and the Taliban including: expulsion from their homes; verbal and physical abuse; intimidation; beatings; loss of employment; imprisonment and even death.   Please provide them with new communities of support because their persecution normally comes from family members and neighbors.  Lord, I ask that you shield, protect and encourage Christians who are arrested and Imprisoned by government authorities for their faith.    I ask that you raise up leaders who are just and will allow all people the freedom to express their faith.  Give these leaders wisdom as they deal with the growing illegal opium trade.  Lord, I ask that their stories will serve as a catalyst that will awaken Afghani Muslims to the power of Christ.  Lastly, I pray that the persecutors of your church be exposed and opposed.  I also ask that they be brought to repentance, or that they may be removed.  Help me to love those who persecute my brothers and sisters.  My prayer is that those who are persecuted will one day have the strength to love their enemies and that one day these enemies will be your friends (Matthew 5:44)… 

Father, I lift up in prayer my brothers and sisters in India, who are suffering for your name.   Please raise up righteous and just leaders who will usher in true religious freedom and enact laws and policies that guarantee this right.  Give them wisdom as they try to resolve issues of extreme poverty, overpopulation, border disputes and religious strife. Hear the cries of your people who are suffering martyrdom, torture, beatings, arrests, and the destruction of homes and churches. Lord, give your persecuted witnesses endurance and courage so that they can be a positive witness to the Gospel of peace.  I pray for my brothers and sisters in the state of Orissa, where they are experiencing serious anti-Christian violence.  Please comfort for your people in the aftermath of a religious battle between Hindu extremists and Christians that left 100 Christians dead and greater than 70,000 people homeless. Lord, bring your provision to the more than 50,000 people who are living in forests and refugee camps. Lord please intercede for Christian children who are often denied access to village wells, governmental food supplies, schools, shops and even firewood.  Please give them your strength to endure mistreatment and humiliation for your glory.  Father, open the eyes of the authorities to this injustice and move them toward action.  Lord, do not allow bitterness to creep into your believers’ lives as they look for justice and instead see injustice (only 24 people have been convicted for participating in the attacks — 95 have been acquitted).  Lord, give them the eyes to see that you are the God of justice and there will be a reckoning. 

Lord, I pray for believers who are suffering from the effects of radical Hindus who seek to purify India.  Please shield Christians from false arrests and accusations under the anti-conversion law.  Lord Jesus, be with the leaders and pastors who are routinely threatened and often physically attacked and/or arrested.  Lord, there are so many imprisoned Indian pastors and Christians who are living out your call, hear their cry.  Shield these prisoners and enable them to be released soon. I ask that you give these Christians the opportunity to share their faith, even in chains. I pray that those behind this injustice will repent of their actions and come to embrace you as their Lord and Savior… 

Lord, I ask you for you to intercede in Pakistan where one of my brothers and sisters and one is arrested every month (mostly on blasphemy charges).  Lord, I pray that you will raise up just leaders in Pakistan who will stand up to Muslim extremists and usher is religious freedom and fight against the oppressive rule of shari’a law. Lord, I ask that you restore justice and righteousness in this country so that Pakistani Christians will not face discrimination, but have equal access to education, health, employment and housing.  I pray that you give courage to the Christians who live in fear of kidnapping, death threats and physical harassment and witness attacks on their property and churches almost every week.   I pray that you give courage and wisdom to the pastors caring for their flock in very difficult circumstances.   Lord, please protect falsely accused Christians who are often sentenced to death for “blasphemy” charges (any perceived negative comment against Islam).  Lord Jesus, please comfort and shield the many Christians who are jailed for calling you God.  Father, I ask that you use these evil events to bring the global spotlight the unjust situations that Christians face in Pakistan.  May this lead to a mighty revival of your word and your Son, Jesus Christ, in the nation of Pakistan.   

Lord, I lift up victims of last years devastating monsoon that left at least 1,500 people dead, hundreds of thousands homeless and left an estimated 20 million affected by disease or lack of basic resources.   Lord, I pray that Pakistani and foreign Christians will be able to demonstrate the love of Jesus in meeting both the short-term and long-term needs created by this disaster.   My prayer is that God will use this tragedy to open new doors for the gospel into these regions, among the least reached in the world. 

(b) Write down the names of people who you are praying for today (especially the unchurched):

(c) Pray for your personal needs: 

5.  PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.  Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)…. 

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen” 

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

