DAY 13: Today we lift up the Northwestern European countries of Poland; Ukraine; Belarus; Russia; Lithuania; Latvia and Estonia

1.  ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME 

You are a Good God…. 

Lord, because you are good, you have plans for my good, not my harm.  You want to give me good things.  Your word tells me “For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope”  (Jer. 29:11)… 

2.  CONFESS ANY SIN 

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness…. 

Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you….. 

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)…. 

3.  THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….  

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)…. 

Thank you for the things that I know you will do…. 

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today: 

4. SUPPLICATION 

(a) Pray for the world: Northwest Europe: Poland; Ukraine; Belarus; Russia; Lithuania; Latvia and Estonia                                                                                                                                                           

Lord, I thank you for the fall of the Iron Curtain which opened these countries to unprecedented access to the good news.  Yet, the effects from an oppressive regime are still being deeply felt and there is still widespread government corruption causing poverty, unemployment and economic struggles for pensioners, teachers, doctors and other state employees.  Lord, I pray that you will use these struggles to draw people to you as they realize that you are the only source of security and peace.  Please raise up compassionate, righteous and just leaders who are bold in their faith. 

Lord, I am thankful that Poland is one of the most religious states in Europe and that the vast majority of Poles consider themselves Catholic – most still committed to their faith, but only a third attend mass regularly.  Lord, I ask you to send renewal to the Catholic Church.  I pray for appropriate honoring, but against the undue worship, of Mary (Widespread belief that Mary is co-redemptive and intercessor between humanity and Jesus).  I pray for biblical teaching that is theologically sound and that Jesus will be rightly placed at the heart of the Catholic Church.   I ask that you arouse and equip believers to speak out against the cults (Jehovah’s Witnesses outnumber evangelicals two to one) and the dangers of combining Catholicism with Pagan, Wicca and New Age beliefs.  Lord, I pray that you will raise up Christian leaders who a heart for ministry in their own country (many leave the country after completion of their studies). 

Lord, I thank you for rich Christian heritage of Ukraine which was once considered the Soviet “Bible Belt”.  Churches suffered greatly until independence.  Lord, I pray that the all denominations will work together to bring the good news of the gospel instead of staying mired in personal pride, unforgiveness and financial disputes which blunt the effectiveness of the leaders and their message.  I thank you for the recent successful house church movement which has seen great growth both in Ukraine and neighboring countries by focusing on relational outreach, lay leadership and reproducing churches.  Lord, please continue to bless ministries that serve hundreds of thousands of students, tens of thousands of street children, over 100,000 children living in orphanage (many of these suffer health complications from Chernobyl).  Lord, soften the hearts of the residents in the Crimea region who still have communist beliefs and are ambivalent toward religion.  I lift up the significant numbers of Christians who are specifically reaching out to Crimean Tatars (predominantly Muslim – although often nominally) and Ukrainian Jews who are responsive to the gospel.  The increasing number of Tatar believers are noted for their fiery faith. 

Lord, your people of Belarus are blessed to have a constitution that provides for freedom of religion, yet the current government seeks to restrict that right by enforcing laws to limit freedom of worship by requiring churches to register and at the same time denying their registration applications year after year.  Lord, I ask that you soften the hearts of those in leadership in Belarus so that they will allow greater freedom of worship and relax their attitude towards foreign missionaries and Christian aid workers.  Lord, I am thankful for that the Orthodox Church has been given increased religious freedom, but I am saddened that so many of the other congregations are the targets of governmental fines and harassment as well as vandalism by local groups.  Lord, your people seek to be obedient to the laws of man, but they struggle to register and are frequently denied the right to worship you.  Lord, help the church leaders persevere as they face increasing pressure from the authorities and intimidation from the wider society.  Lord, use the deportation of effective foreign pastors to your glory.  Lord, please come along side your pastors and block the enemy from discouraging pastors who are often jailed or deported under the restrictive religion law.  Help your Belarus believers who are facing persecution and let their testimony draw nonbelievers into fellowship with you. 

Lord, I lift up the Russian people today.  I am thankful that your Church has more than doubled and those identifying themselves as non-religious or atheist have dropped by more than half since communism fell.  Yet Lord, there are increasing signs that the Russian people are feeling hopeless:  among the lowest birthrates in the world  – even though the government is offering generous incentives to reproduce;  one of the world’s highest abortion rates; one of the world’s highest alcoholism rate; and over 2.5 million people are drug addicts (8% of teens used drugs daily).  Lord, I ask you to send renewal and hope to the people of Russia.  Please raise up believers who can effectively serve as witnesses to your truth. I also pray for openness to the gospel on the part of Muslims (17 million) and a loving and sensitive passion for their salvation on the part of Christians in Russia. 

Father, I ask for protection for the Christian congregations located in the North Caucasus region of Russia.  We especially pray for Chechnya where the Christian presence has already been eliminated.  Please Lord, soften the hearts of the leaders so that there will be increased political stability and true religious freedom.  Lord, I entreat you to place a hedge of protection around the few remaining Christians of the Caucasus region.  Help them to remain firm in the faith during this time of great uncertainty and oppression.  I pray that these secret believers will grow in their knowledge and love of the Lord Jesus. I thank you for the Chechen language New Testament that was published in 2007 and I pray that it will reach believers, along with other Christian literature.  I pray that you will give the few remaining Christians opportunities to be your light to this nation.  Let them be known as peacemakers…. 

Lord, I lift up Lithuania and pray that you will awaken your believers to stand in the gap and oppose harmful practices: societal including:  substance abuse, and the trafficking women for prostitution in the West.  I ask that you renew and awaken the Catholic Church so that it can use its significant resources to draw people to Christ and thus be a godly influence in society.  Lord, please bless Christian training opportunities so they will raise up godly, well-educated and visionary leaders for the nation. I ask you to move the hearts of believers to serve as missionaries to this country for there are still many opportunities for foreigners called of God to have a Kingdom influence here. 

Lord, I lift up Latvia with their growing spiritual malaise (38% are non-religious) that manifests in increased problems with alcoholism, drug addiction, a rapidly growing sex trade, high abortion rates, and the world’s fourth highest suicide rate.   Lord, I ask that the Latvians will awaken from their spiritual apathy, so that they will discover that you are the only source of hope.   I pray that your Spirit will move in the churches and that the many nominal Christians will become true believers. Lord, I pray that you will raise up loving and patient believers who answer your call to witness to 7,000 Jews in Latvia who are very resistant to the gospel and increasingly subjected to anti-Semitism.   I pray for continued work on the Latvian Bible (the NT was released in 2007).   

Lord, I pray for your truth and light to be established in Estonia(54% are nonreligious).  This nation has a Protestant heritage, but most lack genuine faith and need to be re-evangelized.  I pray for a new vision for evangelism and revival to reawaken the nominal majority.  Lord, I ask that you raise up believers who can effectively disciple new Christians in biblical truths.  I ask that you equip missionaries to share the gospel with Tatar Muslims and Estonian Jews. 

(b) Write down the names of people who you are praying for today (especially the unchurched):

(c) Pray for your personal needs: 

5.  PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD 

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.  Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)…. 

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen” 

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

