DAY 11: Today we lift up the Southeastern European countries of Greece; Cyprus; Albania; Macedonia; Serbia(inc. Kosovo); Bosnia(inc. Herzegovina); Montenegro and Croatia

1.  ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME 

You are a Loving God…. 

O Lord, you display perfect love.  I know that to know you is to know love.  “God is love. God’s love was revealed among us in this way: God sent his only Son into the world so that we might live through him. This is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the atoning sacrifice for our sins” (1 John 4:8-10)… 

2.  CONFESS ANY SIN 

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness….

Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you….. 

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)…. 

3.  THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION 

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….  

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)…. 

Thank you for the things that I know you will do…. 

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today: 

4. SUPPLICATION 

(a) Pray for the world:  Southeast Europe: Greece; Cyprus; Albania; Macedonia; Serbia(inc.  Kosovo); Bosnia(inc.Herzegovina); Montenegro and Croatia 

Lord, I lift up Greece and I pray that the fear and uncertainty of their economic crisis will drive the nation to cry out to God rather than to trust in the obviously flawed financial solutions.  Lord, I pray for spiritual renewal and reformation in the Orthodox Church which is a deep part of Greek identity so that the people of Greece will have a life-changing encounter with the living God.  Lord, bring unity to members and leaders of your faith communities (Orthodoxy, Catholic and Protestant) so they might recognize the true enemy and work together to build God’s Kingdom.  Please raise up Christian Greeks to reach out to the marginalized populations:  Albanian legal and illegal immigrants; Muslim Turks; Romani (Gypsies); Bulgarian-speaking Pomaks; the 200,000 plus drug addict; and the more than 10,000 prostitutes (most trafficked in from other countries). 

Lord, I pray for the Holy Spirit to draw Cypriots into a living relationship with Christ and for renewal within the Orthodox Church.  Please bless the recent distribution of New Testaments to public schools so that this might bear much fruit among the students.  Lord,  I thank you for the recent rapid growth of ethnic minority evangelicals among the English-speaking, Russian, Filipino, Sri Lankan and Iranian communities and I pray for the active and effective witness to their own communities and to the indigenous population.  Lord please give protection, wisdom and fruitfulness for those seeking to share Christ with those in Turkish Muslims on the north side of the island. 

Lord, I thank you that because of concentrated prayer and intercession, formerly communist Albania has been opened for Christian missions. I am thankful for the recent growth of several thousand evangelicals and I pray thatAlbania’s government and business cultures might be positively impacted by the influence of believers. Lord, I pray for unity among believers (Protestant, Orthodox, and Catholic) so that nothing will impede the message of the love of Christ to this predominantly Muslim country. Please continue to bless Christian ministries designed to assist the poor and suffering and to provide employment opportunities for Christians.  Lord, give Albanian believers who have been equipped and impacted by these ministries confidence to bring the message of your love to their businesses, professions and to society at large.  My prayer is that these efforts will bear fruit that will eventually transform the country. 

Lord, I pray for renewal in the Macedonian Orthodox Church which claims to represent almost two-thirds of the population, but in fact most Macedonians are secular and unreligious in practice. Lord, you have done a recent work bringing unity to your believers through prayer summits, networks, and citywide worship events.  I pray that believers might press into true unity and that Christians’ love for one another might attract many to Christ.  Lord, I ask you to bless the ministries that seek to raise up mature and biblically literate believers.   Father, call and equip believers to evangelize Macedonian Albanian Muslims, many of whom are open a loving witness.   Please send your witnesses to the Romani population who are chronically poor, oppressed, uneducated, unemployed and blend Islam with folk superstitions.  

Lord, I grieve the Serbian response to your call of bringing our neighbors to Christ was through ethnoreligious hatred, ethnic cleansing and war atrocities instead of through your love.  I beseech you to do a mighty work that will bring healing and the redemptive transformation to Serbia.  Please bring new life within the Orthodox Church so that it will support true religious freedom.  I pray that the tiny evangelical community – the only body that has retained multi-cultural fellowships – might prove a catalyst for good.  I ask for their protection from people who view their denomination as a sect.   Lord, I lift up to your care the youth of Serbia, the war refugees from the former Yugoslavia, and the Romani people who are very responsive to the gospel message.  

Lord, I also lift up Kosovo where peace remains fragile, and the restoration of this region is a distant hope.  I ask you to intercede so that communal hatreds might be resolved and lasting peace, not dependent on foreign military forces, will be established.  Lord, I ask you to bless the ministries that serve this country where unemployment is at 70%, internal politics are divided and organized crime/smuggling syndicates abound.  Most Kosovar Albanians are nominally Muslim, but still hundreds of Christian sites have been damaged or destroyed by angry mobs. I pray that religious hatred might be quelled, and that Muslims would see beyond ethno-religious hatred to Jesus, to whom they are precious. 

Father you know that there is much to be done in Bosnia where there is such a deep divide (two separate minis-states and a presidency that must rotate among three main factions) that only you can bring hope, unity and true reconciliation. Bosnia struggles with poverty and organized crime. I ask you to do a supernatural work and bring unity to religious communities who are deeply divided along ethnic lines (Orthodoxy by Serbian nationalists; Catholicism by Croat nationalists; Militant Wahhabism from the Middle East).  I pray for your Spirit to move powerfully among all Christians so that they will recognize that their citizenship lies first in Heaven.  I ask that awaken people to your call to bring the love of Christ to Bosniak Muslims who are possibly the least evangelized people in Europe. 

I praise your recent movement in the Catholic Church of Croatia which is at the forefront of the reconciliation movement.   I pray for wisdom and endurance for the small but active charismatic movement within the Catholic Church.  I call upon you to move Croatians from empty rituals to a living relationship with Jesus.  I pray that evangelicals (who are one of the few groups that straddle the ethnic divide) will continue to demonstrate the boundary-breaking, universal love of God.  Lord, I ask that you build up ministries who will be able to train evangelical leaders.  Father, I ask you to infuse leaders with creative outreach and authentic love toward the youth (high unemployment and 80% of teens use drugs) so that they will know the hope and healing of the living Christ.  

Independence has brought optimism and hope to Montenegro and I pray that people will seek the truth in the midst of their new-found nationhood.  I pray that the Montenegrin Orthodox Church and the Serbian Orthodox Church will stop squabbling over property rights and will instead demonstrate Christlike leadership to a population whose faith is, for the most part, nominal.  I pray that new spiritual life will come to this nation’s predominate Orthodox community.  

(b) Write down the names of people who you are praying for today (especially the unchurched):

(c) Pray for your personal needs: 

5.  PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD 

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.  Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)…. 

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen”

 

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

