DAY 9: Today we lift up the Central European Countries of the Netherlands; Belgium; Luxembourg; Liechtenstein; Germany; Switzerland; Austria and Monaco

1.  ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME 

You are the Sovereign God…. 

You, O Lord rule over your entire creation.  You have absolute authority and are free to do what you know to be best.  You are in control of everything that happens.  There is no one like you.  You are in control of all things!  Lord, help me to continually remember that you are totally in control, so that I can rest in you.  

2.  CONFESS ANY SIN 

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness….

Pease show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you…..

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)….

3.  THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION 

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….  

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)….

Thank you for the things that I know you will do…. 

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today: 

4. SUPPLICATION 

(a) Pray for the world: Central Europe: Netherlands;Belgium; Luxembourg ; Germany; Switzerland; Austria and Monaco

Lord, I lift up Belgium and the Netherlands which have seen a dramatic decline in the number of Christians in this generation. Over one-third of the population indicate that they are atheists and/or  non-religious.   Rapid secularization has allowed the introduction of several very liberal laws that are an affront to a biblical understanding of the sanctity of life, sexuality and marriage.   I ask you to bring revival to these materially prosperous, but spiritually poor lands. The Church has effectively withdrawn from engaging society in the public sphere.  Lord, I pray for a revival that will restore these nations spiritually,  cause them to rediscover their Christian roots and many embolden believers to reach out with the good news.  I also lift up the Muslim communities in these countries which are troubled, seeing a backlash from a suspicious majority, facing a violent faction within its midst and struggling with spiritual apathy and even apostasy (to atheism and Christianity) among many. Lord, I ask that you raise up believers who will reach out in friendship with the love and power of Christ.  I thank you for the steady trickle of Muslims believing in Christ; and I pray that the trickle becomes a stream and then a torrent. I pray that these believers will be integrated into groups of like-minded disciples with whom they can walk the walk of faith in Jesus. I also pray for their safety; there are risks, even in Europe, associated with conversion from Islam. 

Lord, I lift up Luxembourg which has a strong Catholic heritage remains, but only a small percent regularly attend mass or practice their faith.  A mélange of secularism, materialism and a fuzzy personalized spirituality all help shape their belief system.  I pray for a spiritual revival and that people will discover the power of the living Christ.  I ask that you raise up Christ-centered leaders who will seek opportunities to share the gospel, labor in the churches and help shape the nation according to biblical principles.   I pray against the negative bias on the part of government and society who label evangelicals with the stigma of “cults” which makes state recognition, public perception and the renting of buildings difficult. 

Lord, I ask for revival in Liechtenstein and Monaco.  I pray that many would see the ultimate emptiness of materialistic hedonism and seek the fullness of life Christ offers.  Father, I ask for you to embolden the members of the extended royal family who profess personal faith in Christ and give them opportunities to express their faith. 

Lord, I lift up Germany who because of her wealth, influence and strategic location in the EU and Europe could be of inestimable value for the Kingdom of God.  My hope is that you will raise up leaders who will hold fast to righteousness and strong moral values despite opposition and temptation to compromise.  Lord, this nation’s spiritual health is failing, your Church is widely perceived as irrelevant and open hostility to anything Christian is increasing.  In addition, thousands are formally disaffiliating in order to avoid the church tax of 8-9% of their income tax, and many churches are closing.  Lord, Germany needs another reformation as deep and lasting as the one sparked by Luther nearly 500 years ago.   I ask you to continue to bless the German evangelicals who have planted over 1,000 churches in the last 15 years.  Please give Christian leaders vision so that they will break forth into dynamic new expressions of faith that both rejuvenate the faithful and draw in those open to Jesus.  Lord, I also pray for the immigrant churches which are springing up among African, Asian and Latino populations. 

Lord, I pray for Eastern Germany which must overcome three generations of imposed atheism before the Church can flourish. About 80% are effectively unevangelized and 65% are either agnostic or atheist.  Lord, embolden and empower your believers who are standing firm in Christ to bring your hope and light to this undernourished section of the country.  I also that you continue to bless the ministries who evangelize and minister toGermany’s large Muslim population (3.6 million from over 40 nations).  

Lord, I ask you to lift the social and spiritual malaise of Switzerland caused by wealth and comfortable living.  The great reformers, Calvin and Zwingli, expounded the truths of Scripture in this land, but few today have any interest in or understanding of real Christianity. A large majority of the younger generation is interested in God and religious matters, but they explore eastern religions and the occult as much as Christianity.  I ask you to raise up ministries and churches that make themselves relevant to the young.  I pray that the Swiss may find the true way in Jesus Christ and that the nation might be stirred again by the Holy Spirit.  I pray for renewal in your churches.  Lord, there is a serious need for more pastors, and I ask you to raise up godly clergy who will preach Biblical truths.  I pray that true believers will be more effectively motivated and activated for outreach.  Switzerland has the highest proportion of foreign residents of any major state in Europe(almost one-quarter of the population are foreigners, many from Muslim backgrounds).  Lord I ask that you continue to bless the ministries and churches who are committed to serve them.  I pray for clear and loving outreach to these new faith communities. 

While 84% of Austrians believe in God (high for Europe), few have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.  I pray that these nominal Christians will be filled by the living presence of Christ.  I pray for your spirit to move among Austrian churches which have been in steady decline for decades.  Please send in your spirit of renewal among your church where formalism and tradition have pushed away the younger generation.  I pray that the people will turn away from popular New Age movements, Eastern religions, Jehovah’s Witnesses (more numerous than evangelicals), Mormonism and the New Apostolic Church which have gained thousands of followers.  The Dalai Lama conducted a rite wherein he released 722 spirits to make Austriathe bridgehead of Buddhism for Western Europe. I pray for both for the nullification of these efforts and for the release of those ensnared in false beliefs.  Continue to bless the groups of evangelical pastors and lay leaders who seek to deepen spiritual life and combat theological liberalism within the Church. I pray that your spirit will move in these churches and make them a force for the evangelization of the land. 

(b) Write down the names of people who you are praying for today (especially the unchurched):

(c) Pray for your personal needs: 

5.  PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD 

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.  Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)…. 

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen” 

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

