DAY 7: Today we lift up the Caribbean Islands of Haiti; Dominican Republic; Puerto Rico; Anguilla; Saint Martin; Saint Barthelemy; Antigua & Barbuda; Montserrat; Guadeloupe; Dominica; Martinique; Saint Lucia; Saint Kitts & Nevis

1. ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME

You are the Omniscient God….

Only You, O Lord possess perfect knowledge.  You have no need to learn because you are all-knowing. You know everything, and your knowledge is infinite.  I am unable to hide any thing or any thought from you.  You are everywhere at once.  It is hard for me to imagine, but “Everything everywhere is immediately in [your] presence.”

O LORD, You have searched me and known me.  You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you understand my thought from afar.  You scrutinize my path and my lying down, and are intimately acquainted with all my ways. Even before there is a word on my tongue, Behold, O LORD, You know it all.” (Psalm 139)

2. CONFESS ANY SIN 

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, or lack of love, or unforgiveness, or bitterness….Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you….. 

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)….

3.  THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION 

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….  

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)….Thank you for the things that I know you will do…. 

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today: 

4. SUPPLICATION 

(a) Pray for the world:  The Caribbean: Haiti; Dominican Republic; Puerto Rico; Anguilla; Saint Martin; Saint Barthelemy; Antigua & Barbuda; Montserrat; Guadeloupe; Dominica; Martinique; Saint Lucia; Saint Kitts & Nevis 

Lord, please bless your church in Haiti.  I thank you for the spiritual response to last year’s earthquake and the universal outpouring of prayer, repentance and calling upon you for mercy and deliverance. Out of this disaster, you appear to be doing something radical and new among the people of Haiti. When the president called for three days of prayer and fasting during Mardi Gras – traditionally a time of partying and excess – one million people participated. Throughout the country, churches were filled to overflowing and services were held amid rubble and in the ruined streets. Lord, please continue to spiritually awaken your people and let this not be merely a one time expression of grief, fear and desperation.  

Lord, I ask for protection for the Christians who are openly standing against voodooism and the spiritual forces behind it. I pray against the ubiquitous influence and enduring legacy of voodoo so that it will be made subordinate to the authority of Christ – especially in the lives of Christians. I ask that the Haitians who call themselves Christian might experience the transforming nature of a personal relationship with Christ.   Lord, please soften the hearts of the Mulatto elite (wealthy, French-oriented and isolated from the majority) who do not see the need for a personal faith.  Father, I ask you to raise up people and organizations dedicated to showing compassion and love to the restaveks, who are effectively child slaves, numbering 300,000 to 400,000 (10% of all children in Haiti).  

Lord, I pray for spiritual and theological purity of the Christians in the Dominican Republic.  Many who are active Christians practice a dangerous blend of Christianity and Afro-Spiritism, influenced by Cuban santeria and Haitian voodoo.  The unchurched majority is nominally Christian and occultism is pervasive and strong.  Please bring renewal and awakening among Catholics so they will know the power of Scripture and the Holy Spirit.  Lord, I ask for true religious liberty in the Dominican Republic.  Even though outright persecution is rare, those outside the religious majority are often faced with bureaucratic antipathy and low-level hostility.  I pray for endurance, provision and faithfulness to those called to minister, especially those serving in the poorer, rural areas. Many current and potential spiritual leaders leave the country for the economic improvements of life in the USA or Puerto Rico. 

Lord, I lift up Puerto Rico which is plagued by high levels of corruption in the local government.   Lord, I ask you to raise up Christians who will seek to make an impact on the many social needs of the nation (substance abuse, disease, corruption, crime and poverty are some of the highest in the Americas:  Over 45% of the population live below the poverty line; 50% of the island relies on food aid;   62% fail to complete secondary school –the highest dropout rate in the USA). 

Father, I lift up the islands of Anguilla, Saint Lucia, Martinique, Antigua, Barbuda Saint Kitts and Nevis.  I pray that religious traditions might be infused with real spiritual life. Holy Spirit come and revive, empower and embolden these nominal believers.  I pray for genuine renewal in the churches and for the spiritual and moral transformation of society. 

Lord, I ask that the midst of the elegant, but hedonistic paradise of Saint Martin and Saint Barthelemy, people might gain a hunger for an eternal Heaven.  I pray that amid the boutiques, cafés and villas, people will become unsatisfied and will hunger for spiritual reality and the opportunity to know you.  Please revive and renew the few churches on these islands so they might minister meaningfully into this unique context.  

Lord, I lift up the island of Montserrat that will most likely never completely recover from the massive devastation caused by the volcanic eruptions in the late 1990s.  I pray for a new start for the Island with Christ placed at the center of island life.  I also pray for effective rebuilding of congregations, community life, property and outreach. 

I pray for the outlying islands of Guadeloupe which are difficult to evangelize.  I lift up the residents of Asian descent who are often nominally Catholic and retain many of their Hindu beliefs.

I lift up the Carib Indians who live on an isolated reservation on the northeast coast of Dominica. Most are nominally Christian and only a small number actively follow Christ. I pray that they will find their true identity and fulfillment in you. 

(b) Write down the names of people who you are praying for today (especially the unchurched):

(c) Pray for your personal needs: 

5.  PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD 

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.  Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)…. 

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen” 

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

