DAY 5: Lifting up the South American Countries of Brazil; Bolivia; Paraguay; Uruguay; Argentina; Chile and the Falkland Islands

1.  ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME

You are the Omnipresent God…

Lord God you are present in all places at all times.  “Where can I go from your spirit? Or where can I flee from your presence?  If I ascend to heaven, you are there; if I make my bed in Sheol, you are there.

If I take the wings of the morning and settle at the farthest limits of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me fast.  If I say, ‘Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light around me become night’, even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is as bright as the day, for darkness is as light to you.” (Psalm 139:7-12)…

Help me to feel your presence today.  Give me spiritual eyes to experience your presence through your creation or through the voices of family, friends or co-workers or through today’s circumstances.  Thank you for your presence….

2. CONFESS ANY SIN

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness….

Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you…..

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)….

3.  THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)….

Thank you for the things that I know you will do….

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today:

(a) Pray for the world: South America (Middle and Southern Section) Brazil; Bolivia; Paraguay; Uruguay; Argentina; Chile and the Falkland Islands

Lord, I thank you for the recent evangelistic growth in Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay.  I pray that the spirit will continue to draw many to Christ and do a deep work in believers.  Unfortunately, this increased hunger and spiritual openness has drawn people into spiritism and cults of questionable spirituality and cults related to pre-Christian deities.  I ask you to protect those who are seeking and surround them with believers who can guide them in your ways of truth.

Father, I ask that you continue raise up ministries that can help equip and teach the pastors and lay leaders of your churches in the countries of South America.  There is a desperate need for more trained pastors, priests and lay leaders in these countries to disciple new Christians.  In fact in Brazil, there is a need for 100,000 more priests to meet the needs of the people. Please protect these congregations from the danger of pursuing numerical growth at the cost of leaving many new Christians unfed and spiritually immature.

Also, I pray for a spirit of unity among the evangelistic churches.  Many of the new Christians live in extremely remote and isolated communities without links to the global church.  Unfortunately, this leaves the door open to theological error and abuse.  Help these leaders remain humble servants of your truth and remember that they are one body and are all united through Christ.

There is a great need for youth and children’s ministries in Bolivia as 67% of the population is under 30.  Most of these children are raised in chronic poverty and this makes them susceptible to engage in and become victims of crime.  I ask that you raise up leaders who see it as their mission to evangelize, equip and train the young to be carriers of hope and healing to the nation.

Lord, I pray for renewal for the nominal Christians of South America.  There are many immigrants who identify themselves as “Christian” but they are not following the way of Christ.  Lord, help them to remember who they are and whose they are.

I ask that you remember Brazil which is plagued by poverty and has the word’s highest firearm homicide rate in the world.  They are also the second highest consumer of illicit drugs.  I pray that you will move people to minister to those who feel marginalized and hopeless.  This includes the Amerindians of the Amazon basin, the large immigrant population (Brazil has over 1.5 million  Japanese) and the millions who live in poverty.  Brazil has the capacity to bring healing to itself through Christ.  In fact, it sends out over 2000 missionaries per year (14th largest number sent by any nation).

(b) Write down the names of people that you are praying for today (especially the unchurched):

(c) Pray for your personal needs:

5.  PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD

“Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.  Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)….

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen”

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

