Day 2: Today we lift up the North American countries of Bermuda and the United States of America

1. ADORE GOD & SEEK HIS FACE BY CALLING ON HIS NAME

You are the Eternal God.

You are the alpha and omega. It is hard for me to imagine with my finite mind that you had no beginning and will have no end. It gives me comfort to know that there has never been a time when you did not exist. I am thankful that you are not bound by time. I can trust you because you know my past and yet you love me. Thus, I can trust you with my future because you want me for yourself…“But you, O LORD, are enthroned for ever; your name endures to all generations… Long ago you laid the foundation of the earth, and the heavens are the work of your hands. They will perish, but you endure…” (Ps. 102)…

2. CONFESS ANY SIN

Lord, reveal to me any form of pride, lack of love, unforgiveness, or bitterness….

Please show me any unholy practices or areas of disobedience to you…..

“Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love…blot out my transgressions…and cleanse me from my sin” (Psalm 51)….

3. THANK THE LORD FOR HIS GOODNESS, MERCY & PROVISION

Thank you Lord for forgiving and forgetting my sins….

Thank you for those things that you have already done in my life (even those things that don’t feel good)….

Thank you for the things that I know you will do….

Write down a few of the people, events or things that you are thanking Him for today:

4. SUPPLICATION

(a) Pray for the world: North America: Bermuda and the United States of America

Father, I lift up Bermuda, the world’s wealthiest Black majority territory. I ask for revival for this country so that the lifestyles of the Christians are in line with Biblical truth. Please give Christian leaders unity as they seek to work together to bring revival to this small island nation.

Lord, I thank you for the United States of America’s founding fathers who used the Christian faith to shape our laws and policies. I am thankful that many people are still allowing Christ to shape their faith and their call to social action and justice. I am grateful that our country has 17.6% of all Protestants in the world, 16.8% of all evangelicals in the world, and a significant proportion of all the world’s foreign missionaries. Lord, I ask that you allow your spirit to descend on our large population of Christ-followers so that they will be energized and mobilized to be used as beacons of light that guide all people to your truth.

I ask that you continue to raise up leaders who are obedient to the call of proclaiming your truth to our own nation and the nations of the world. Lord, please revitalize, revive and equip your Church to transmit the truth and power of the gospel to the entire nation. I pray that you will continue to embolden Christians to speak your truth in love and humility.

Lord, I pray for our youth and for the ministries that serve them. Lord, bless the ministries that serve our college campuses. Give them vision and leadership so that they can bring hope and purpose to our young men and women who are searching for meaning.

Lord, I pray that our nation’s massive cultural and social influence be used as a force for good to bring hope and healing to the nations. Help us distinguish between what is scriptural and what is cultural. Please shape my life and the life my nation to more closely reflect the Christ.

(b) Write down the names of people that you are praying for today (especially the unchurched):

(c) Pray for your personal needs

5. PRAISE, MAGNIFY & GLORIFY GOD

“Give ear to my words, O LORD; give heed to my sighing. Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you I pray. O LORD, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.” (Psalm 5)….

“For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever…Amen”

© [The Center for Prayer & Spiritual Growth; a ministry of First Presbyterian Church,Norfolk,Virginia] and [thewayofprayer.com], [2011]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

